Advertise Now
  Home > Travel Germany > Germany Destinations > Siegen


Germany is located in Central Europe and it shares borders with Denmark in the North, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and France in the West, Austria and Switzerland in the South and Poland and the Czech Republic in the East. The North Sea and the Baltic Sea represent additional National Borders in the North. The official language of Germany is German and Berlin is the capital.
Siegen lies in the South Westphalian part of the North Rhine-Westphalia-Hesse-Rhineland-Palatinate three-state area and is a Grobe kreisangehorige Stadt. It is in the district of Siegen-Wittgenstein in Arnsberg region. The university town is the district seat and it is ranked as a higher centre in the South Westphalian urban agglomeration. Its population is 104,984 according to the 2006 census. Its area is 114.67 square kilometers with a density of 915.5 per square kilometer. The city of Siegen lies in a branched basin of the upper Sieg. The heights of the surrounding mountains, wherever they are not actually settled, are covered in coppice.
Its greatest east-west span is at about 11 kilometers and its greatest north-south span is at about 12 kilometers far away. The city area is divided into six zones, called Bezirke in German and comparable to boroughs in some cities, which themselves are further divided into various communities. Siegen's six boroughs and communities belonging to each District level.
Siegen prides itself on its important role in social and cultural development in the history of South Westphalian as well as on the opportunity provided to its citizens to work, live and grow in a clean and prosperous environment. The city of Siegen has placed itself at the top of a list of municipalities in the Metropolitan Region with the highest quality of life.

Back to Germany Destinations